Can Am Spyder Forum banner
1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
136 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
The shop manual describes our charging system as a magneto system. When I look at it, I see an ordinary alternator charging system like I have in my other motorcycles. I wonder if this is a misnomer resulting from the Rotax heritage in airplane applications where they do sometimes use magnetos.

In the "old days" a magneto had two levels of voltage output. One was 6 or 12 volts for the lights and charging the battery, if there was one. The other output was very high voltage for the ignition system. It was used to fire the spark plugs. It didn't do so well at low RPM's.

As far as I know, the Spyder has an electronic ignition module like other motorcycles and does not depend upon the "magneto" to fire the plugs. Therein lies the mystery.

I am not a motorcycle mechanic so I could be all wet about this stuff. So I call upon the forum members who are much better informed than I am to answer this question: Does the Spyder use an alternator or a magneto, or perhaps and alternator system they simply call a magneto?

·
SpyderRyders
3,463 Posts
The shop manual describes our charging system as a magneto system. When I look at it, I see an ordinary alternator charging system like I have in my other motorcycles. I wonder if this is a misnomer resulting from the Rotax heritage in airplane applications where they do sometimes use magnetos.

In the "old days" a magneto had two levels of voltage output. One was 6 or 12 volts for the lights and charging the battery, if there was one. The other output was very high voltage for the ignition system. It was used to fire the spark plugs. It didn't do so well at low RPM's.

As far as I know, the Spyder has an electronic ignition module like other motorcycles and does not depend upon the "magneto" to fire the plugs. Therein lies the mystery.