Can Am Spyder Forum banner
1 - 20 of 55 Posts

·
Registered
324 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
For those of you that have your Spyder have you noticed that the ambient temp gauge works a bit different than most? I was stuck in traffic today and noticed that the gauge went from 67 degrees to 125 degrees. Once I started riding again it settled at 60 degrees. Seems like the sensor is close to the engine.

·
Registered
421 Posts
For those of you that have your Spyder have you noticed that the ambient temp gauge works a bit different than most? I was stuck in traffic today and noticed that the gauge went from 67 degrees to 125 degrees. Once I started riding again it settled at 60 degrees. Seems like the sensor is close to the engine.
Noticed today the ambient temp is way off, can someone locate the sensor on the BRP parts manual?

I tried for an hour but can't find the darn thing.

Once located I want to see if I can position it somewhere else.

Someone knows if the temp reading can be altered by computer at dealer?

·
Registered
801 Posts
From the chat last night, the ambient temperature reading is more accurate when you are in motion. Too much trapped heat from the engine when it's standing still.

I have the same problem with my Infiniti car...Ambient temperature reading is way off (too high) until you get it moving and air circulation started. Then it settles in on the 'actual' ambient temp.

·
Registered
246 Posts
Once located I want to see if I can position it somewhere else.
Not a good idea. It's located right in front of the intakes on the right side. It's used to messure the temp going into the intakes to make fuel adjustments. If you move it you will know how hot or cold it really is outside but your Spyder will run like dodo.

·
Registered
45 Posts
good point, Lamonster. Do you really think it is connected to the computer to adjust the mixture.